Kudos to AOS Members! Fall 2021


Please join us in congratulating our colleagues on these many wonderful achievements!


George B. Bartley, MD received the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s Laureate Award in 2020. He also received the Budd Appleton MD Service Award from the Minnesota Academy of Ophthalmology and the Alumni Achievement Award for 2021 from the Ohio State University College of Medicine. Dr. Bartley gave the Charles Snyder Lecture to members of the Cogan Ophthalmic History Society.

Karl Golnik, MD is a Board Member and Chair for Education of the Ophthalmology Foundation, an organization that develops new educational content and resources to benefit the global practice of ophthalmology. A number of AOS members also serve on the Board, including Eduardo Alfonso, Julia Haller, Shigeru Kinoshita, Bruce Spivey, Bradley Straatsma, Hugh Taylor, and Tien Wong.

John H. Kempen, MD, MPH, MHS, PhD was awarded the AAO 2020 Outstanding Humanitarian Award.

Judy E. Kim, MD, professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at Medical College of Wisconsin, is one of the six recipients of the 2020 Life Achievement Honor Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology and will be honored at the upcoming annual meeting. It is the highest honor award bestowed on to its members for their contributions to the Academy, its scientific and educational programs and to ophthalmology. Dr. Kim was also honored recently by being invited to give several named lectures, including Robert Haimovici Lecture for Bascom Palmer Eye Institute at the University of Miami,  P. Kenneth Nase Lecture for Wills Eye Hospital of Jefferson School of Medicine and Stephenson Visiting Professor Lecture for University of Louisville.

Mark J. Mannis, MD, FACS, Chair of the Dept of Ophthalmology & Vision Science at UC Davis, has been named President Elect of the California Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons 2022.

Stephen D. McLeod, MD, the Theresa M and Wayne M Caygill, MD, Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of California, San Francisco, was selected unanimously by the Board of Trustees of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, as the Academy’s next Chief Executive Officer. Dr. McLeod will succeed David W. Parke II, MD (also an AOS member), effective Feb. 1, 2022.

Timothy J. McCulley, MD has been named chair of the Ruiz Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science at the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Medical School of the University of Texas Health Sciences Center at Houston, Texas.

Peter A. Netland, MD, PhD, the Vernah Scott Moyston Professor and Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at UVA School of Medicine, with co-editor Angelo P. Tanna, MD, has published in 2021 the third edition of Glaucoma Medical Therapy (Kugler), which includes AOS-member contributors. In August 2021, Dr. Netland received the Presidential Award from the Virginia Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons, in recognition of outstanding commitment to patient advocacy and medical education. Dr. Netland also received the Life Achievement Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology (2018).

Louis R. Pasquale, MD was installed as the Shelley & Steven Einhorn Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, Mount Sinai Health System, New York Eye and Ear Infirmary.

Srinivas R. Sadda, MD, FARVO gave the 2021 Euretina Lecture entitled, “Choriocapillaris in AMD: New Insights into Pathophysiology”.

David Sarraf, MD gave the following named lectures: The Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology Award lecture at the Canadian Ophthalmological Society and the David and Mary Seslen Lecture at the Midwest Ophthalmological Symposium. St Louis, MI.

Richard F. Spaide, MD: The second edition of the book, Pathologic Myopia, of which Dr. Spaide is a co-editor, along with Kyoko Ohno-Matsui and Lawrence A. Yannuzzi, MD, has just been published.

James C. Tsai, MD received the Life Achievement Honor Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award from Marquis Who's Who. Dr. Tsai serves as President of the International Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (IJCAHPO).

Edward J. Wladis, MD, FACS received the Senior Achievement Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology and was named the medical professional of the year by the Northeastern Association of the Blind.

The Ophthalmologist Power List: This list, which features the most influential women in ophthalmology, includes many AOS members, as listed alphabetically below. Congratulations to each of you on your outstanding achievements!

  1. Esen K. Akpek, MD
  2. Emily Y. Chew, MD
  3. Anne L. Coleman, MD
  4. Janet L. Davis, MD
  5. Tamara R. Fountain, MD
  6. Anat Galor, MD, MSPH
  7. Neeru Gupta, MD, PhD, MBA, FRCSC
  8. Julia A. Haller, MD
  9. Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, MD
  10. Martine J. Jager, MD, PhD
  11. Carol L. Karp, MD
  12. Judy E. Kim, MD
  13. Marian S. Macsai, MD
  14. Marguerite McDonald, MD
  15. Joan W. Miller, MD
  16. Carol L. Shields, MD
  17. Janey L. Wiggs, MD, PhD