Kudos to AOS Members! Fall 2020


Please join us in congratulating our colleagues on these many wonderful achievements!


Michael Chiang, MD was named Director of the National Eye Institute of the National Institutes of Health. We all express our congratulations and thanks to Mike for assuming this critically important responsibility!

Ralph Eagle, MD, our AOS Archivist, spent some of his COVID-19 at home sequestration preparing an hour-long video on ocular histology designed for residents and students: the Eagle Histology Video, which has been favorably reviewed. This video is available to all on YouTube. Search Ralph Eagle and Histology.

Martine Jager, MD, PhD received the Secretariat Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Thomas Gardner, MD has been appointed a member of the National Advisory Eye Council of the National Institutes of Health through 2023.

Alex Levin, MD, MHSc, FRCSC is now the Chief of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Ocular Genetics at the Flaum Eye Institute and Chief of Pediatric Genetics at Golisano Children's Hospital at the University of Rochester in New York.

Jennifer Lim, MD was named the AOA Councilor for the University of Illinois Medical School and also was appointed the Diversity and Inclusion Vice Chair of Ophthalmology at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

David Sarraf, MD delivered the Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology Keynote Lecture at the 2020 Canadian Ophthalmological Society meeting on June 27, 2020.

Richard Spaide, MD gave the EURETINA lecture (“Reconsidering Pachychoroid and What It Means”) on October 3, 2020. Dr. Spaide’s observations, based on old and new technologies, provide new insight into the pathogenesis of central serous choroidopathy and allied diseases.

Jayne S. Weiss, MD was awarded the Castroviejo Medal for 2020.