Medical Student Curriculum

This curriculum was developed by a Task Force of the American Ophthalmological Society chaired by John Clarkson. Additional members included James Augsburger, Hans Grossniklaus, Barrett Haik, Marilyn Mets, Rich Parrish, and Ivan Schwab. The recommendations were approved by the AOS Council in May 2003.

The impetus for the production of the document was based upon the impression that the amount of time devoted to instruction in ophthalmology in most medical schools was insufficient to meet the appropriate needs of the public.

The curriculum was subsequently distributed to the Deans of all medical schools in the United States as well as to the President of the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology.

The AOS Curriculum in Ophthalmology for Medical Students is available here.